Enter Shikari – Making of Quelle Surprise

    Enter Shikari

    [youtube id=”UBOXpZEv1_g” width=”600″ height=”350″]

    On July 11th, just for the sheer hell of it, Enter Shikari release a brand new stand-alone single. This release does not herald the arrival of album #3, nor does it really coincide with any live dates. It was finished, and everyone was so excited by it, that the general consensus was that it was better placed in fans’ hands than gathering dust on a disc in the office for the waiting for the ‘right’ time to release it.

    Entitled ‘Quelle Surprise’ and recorded in London with Dan Weller (who was also responsible for last year’s‘Destabilise’ single), the track – if I may be so bold – once again forces Enter Shikari far ahead of their contemporaries in terms of experimentation and blurring the genre boundaries. While so many other artists huddle in the middle ground, following the herd and desperately clawing at stardom, Enter Shikari dig deeper and harder into the path less trodden… striving to forge a sound that is uniquely theirs. To push things even further, mixing duties were placed in the expert hands of mix legend Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica, Glassjaw, Biffy Clyro, Franz Ferdinand and many many more).

    ‘Quelle Surprise’ was initially released as a digital only single in May, as part of an EP that will also includetwo remixes of ‘Destabilise (one by Rou under his ROUT production moniker, and one by new North London artists Creatures Of Love), plus a version of live favourite ‘Hectic‘ recorded at the Enter Shikari Christmas Party show in Hertfordshire back in December. A limited edition, 2×7″ (one red vinyl, one white vinyl) pack of the EP will be released on Monday 11th July.


    1.  Quelle Surprise – Clean

    2.  Quelle Surprise – Profane

    3.  Hectic f. Matt P – Live at Hatfield

    4.  Destabilise  – Rout Remix

    5.  Destabilise – Creatures of Love Remix

    6.  Destabilise – Jonny & The Snipers Version



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.