Years Young – Hiraeth EP

    Hiraeth Tracklisting 1. Miracles 2. Finding My Feet 3. The Sign 4. Paper Mountains 5. Electric 6. Sleeping Easy

    Home is where the heart is, no matter how many Years Young you may be.

    With a consistently beautiful melodic core swathed in electric reflection, it’s plain to see Lincolnshire alt-rock outfit Years Young are by no means an afterthought – this EP has evidently taken valuable time and dedication, and every note sings its own praises.

    Voluminous opener ‘Miracles’ sets the melodic scene, nursing an electric current amid a captivating reflection from vocalist Luke – “My life is built on miracles that never came to light.” ‘Finding My Feet’s steely determination is built with an electric live atmosphere in mind, showcasing drummer Ollie’s vivacious sticksmanship while a noodling solo packs a quirky punch.

    Meandering ‘The Sign’ hosts more of the same tricksy fretwork, before ‘Paper Mountains’ changes key toward a towering tale of solemnity, concealing its scars behind a swaying tempo. True to its name, ‘Electric’ brings an energetic dedication with contagious repeated vocals to herald an incredibly well thought-out hit. Like perfect poetry, closer ‘Sleeping Easy’ serenades with a heartbreaking ode to emotional trauma with as much daunting power as the EP cover.

    The hard work and tenacity poured into this EP makes it more of a mini album, a handful of beautifully crafted and phenomenally produced tracks that will no doubt stand Years Young in good stead for a strong future. Watch this space.

    Years Young’s Hiraeth EP is out now. The band can be followed on Twitter at @YearsYoungMusic.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.