Deaf Havana Confirm December O2 Academy Brixton Date

Deaf Havana 2018 Band Promo Photo

Deaf Havana have lined up a winter London show.

The British five-piece will take over the O2 Academy Brixton on December 7, following up the release of their fifth studio album, ‘Rituals’, which is out on August 10 through SO Recordings. Tickets for the new show go on general sale at 10am on June 29, while the band will also play a number of festivals this summer, with their only UK appearances currently being at Reading and Leeds in August.

The follow up to 2017’s ‘All These Countless Nights’ was written and recorded less than six months ago, as a challenge taken up by vocalist James Veck-Gilodi and co-producer Phil Gornell to subvert the band’s writing process, and present songs representative of the band in the present.

Gornell, who is also Deaf Havana’s Front of House technician, invited Veck-Gilodi up to his home studio Steel City Studios in Sheffield for a couple of days after Christmas.  Having toured together throughout 2017, and having had no headspace to write anything new, suddenly there was this short breathing space in which they found themselves playing music together. James decided to go at songwriting from a completely new perspective; re-discovering the love of making music purely for his own enjoyment. He ended up staying for three months. Discussing it, Veck-Gilodi said:

I was that house guest who never leaves but at the same time, Phil wouldn’t let me go either – we felt we were on to something, creating something that I loved. Phil was an amazing soundboard, bouncing ideas back & forth, and he ended up co-producing the album.

It feels quite self-indulgentThis is the first time I feel like I have made an album that is all for me, written purely for my own enjoyment.  I understand that I might alienate some people who might not ‘get’ the album, but I am so fortunate that the band are behind me all the way. Everyone is super excited to get out on the road and play all these songs live.”

Head below to view the record’s cover art, tracklist and stream lead single, Rituals.


2. Sinner
3. Ritual
4. Hell
5. Holy
6. Saviour
7. Fear
8. Pure
9. Evil
10. Heaven
11. Worship
12. Saint
13. Epiphany


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.