Download Festival 2019 Add Epica & More Bands, NXT (US) Superstars, Comedy And More

Download Festival 2019 January Halestorm Line Up Header Image

With exactly one month to go before the first day of bands at the 2019 Download Festival, the Download team have one more line up announcement for everyone.

Finishing off the line up of bands for 2019 are six more acts, headed by Dutch symphonic metal maestros Epica! The world’s first Nirvana covers band fronted by an Elvis impersonator, Elvana, are also onboard to create a Download Festival experience truly like no other. We also have Inspector Cluzo, Palisades, The Beaches and Blurred Vision rounding off the Donington musical offering for 2019.

A few bands have had their slots altered as well. Most notably, Skindred have stepped up from subbing Halestorm on the Zippo Encore stage to a prime main stage slot just before Trivium on the Saturday. In addition, the much fancied Alien Weaponry have followed in the footsteps of Trivium from nearly fifteen years ago – originally being booked for the smallest stage but now finding themselves opening the main stage on Saturday!

Bolstering the already announced superstars from WWE’s NXT UK are some of their American counterparts. Former NXT North American champ Adam Cole (Bay Bay) will be making his return to Download alongside his Undisputed Era faction partner Kyle O’Reilly. The dominant force of the NXT women’s divison over the last twelve months, Shayna Baszler, is also returning to Download, alongside Matt Riddle and more NXT US superstars are to be confirmed in the run up to the festival.

The Side Splitter Tent in the Download village will feature an excellent mixture of well known and up and coming comedians. Headlined by Jim Breuer and well known metal fan Ed Gamble (who loves his metal so much he wants to go for a beer with Conjurer), there’ll also be comedy stylings from Aaron Simmonds, Allyson June Smith, Andrew Bird, Andy Field, Brett Domino, Dan Nightingale, Danny Mcloughlin, David Longley, Emmanuel Sonubi, Jimmy Mcghie, John Lynn, Jonathan Mayor, Laura Lexx, Lou Conran, Mark Simmons, Milo Mccabe, Rachel Fairburn, Rich Wilson, Rob Kemp, Stephen Buchanan, Sully O’ Sullivan and Thomas Green..

The Download arena will also once again feature the death defying attractions of Sindrome. Where else could you find a death metal puppet show, aeriel contortionists, a “nympho nun” show all in the same place?! Not to mention the prestigious UK Air Guitar Championship for 2019! Register now and get your air shredding on!

With recently announced huge environment and green initiatives, and a raft of measures to help festival goers help and maintain their mental health with the Mind The Dog initiative, the Download team are taking huge steps to make sure that Download maintains both it’s reputation as the UK’s friendliest big festival, as well as striving to make it the most socially aware. More details about the Mind The Dog initiative can be found here.

Download 2019 is headlined by Def Leppard (performing Hysteria in full and much more), Slipknot and Tool on the main stage and Rob Zombie, Halestorm and Slayer (performing their last ever UK show) on the Zippo Encore stage. They will be part of a line up of over 100 bands, not to mention the wrestling, comedy and other entertainment we’ve already talked about in this story.

Tickets for the festival are still available in a variety of formats – though most RIP camping packages are now sold out. For those who haven’t yet got their tickets but now want to join the fun, head over to the official Download online ticketing store now!

Download Festival 2019 Line Up Poster Final


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.